Stuffed French Toastiness

Want a comfort food breakfast that’s different from the usual Saturday breakfast food?  Try stuffing your french toast with something!

Stuffed French Toast Photodinners

We had a big family breakfast this weekend for Easter and my husband and I were in charge of making two dishes.  He made eggs benedict (which I should really blog one day as he describes his benedict sauce as “the best I’ve ever tasted”) and I made my first attempt of stuffing bread with sweet goodness.

Here’s what I did it:

  • Cut a loaf of French Bread into thick slices
  • Cut a hole in the bread from on of the sides
  • Fill with about a teaspoon of cream cheese (I used light strawberry) and about a Tbsp berries (I used strawberries.)  I would recommend previously frozen berries, drained and slightly mashed.
  • Dip the bread into a mixture of 4 eggs and 1/2 cup milk
  • Fry the bread for about four minutes on either side.  I fried mine on an oiled griddle with  the temp set to 350 or so
  • Put the bread in a slightly heated oven until breakfast is ready
  • Take bread out and sprinkle with icing sugar.

Et voila! 

In the mood for something even sweeter? Put a couple milk chocolate chips inside the bread before frying.  Or change it up by trying other fruit besides berries — bananas? Someone at breakfast even suggested stuffing the bread with other breakfasty food, like bacon an eggs (not sure if I’d do that)

This entry was posted in 20 Minutes or Less, Brunch, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuffed French Toastiness

  1. Feeding Time says:

    Yum! This looks delicious. I absolutely love interesting riffs on French toast. I am wondering if it would be easier to fill the bread before slicing?

Leave a Reply

