The Mother-in-Law’s Rib Recipe

I read this story with my grade 12 French students about a woman who tries (and changes) a mother-in-laws recipe.  It’s a cute love story but in the story the changed recipe ends up breaking up the couple.  Even still, I attempted (and changed) my mother-in-law’s rib recipe, because hey, I’ve tried her cooking and it’s just that good!  Don’t worry — the husband and I are still happily married 🙂

Being the lazy and sometimes picky cook that I am, I changed her recipe to avoid buying things that I won’t use again.  To be honest, actually, I was also cooking these ribs for my parents and my dad is the kind of dad that washes off food if he detects any kind of spiciness (so I decided to omit the chili powder to save him a trip to the kitchen sink.)

Ribs PhotodinnersThe ribs still turned out fabulous, so here’s the recipe I ended up using:

4 pound slabs pork ribs
1 tbsp ground black pepper
1tsp salt
1tsp paprika
1tsp cumin
Cut the ribs in half, sprinkle with seasoning (above), and wrap each half in tinfoil.  Bake at 300 for 2.5 hours.
Ribs photodinners
Meanwhile, combine 2 tablespoons vegetable oil and 1 cup  onion in a saucepan. Cook onion through.  Add
2 cups water
1 cup tomato paste
1 cup white vinegar
1 cup brown sugar
5  tablespoons honey
4 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
3 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
4 teaspoons whiskey
4 teaspoons garlic
1/2 teaspoon paprika
2 tablespoon dark molasses
Bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and leave it there for one hour.  Sauce will thicken.  When it’s done, just put it aside until the ribs are done.
Ribs photodinners
To crisp up the ribs, BBQ for three minutes on each side.  Then slather in some sauce  and grill for another minute on either side (the leftover sauce can just be put on the table for extra for those extra saucy people)
Et voila!
Sorry not a lot of pictures of the cooked meat, I realized as everyone was half done their ribs that I hadn’t taken any ‘after’ photos — so I quickly snapped one of the leftover as everyone was happily finishing their dinner.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Mother-in-Law’s Rib Recipe

  1. chefshellina says:

    I love this- and I completely support changing MIL recipes AND maintaining healthy marriages. 😉 Nice job.

Leave a Reply

