Not Your Mother’s Rice, Broccoli, and Chicken Dish

Eager to veer away from the traditional but in a it’s-still-comfort-food kind of way? Me too!  So, I took the traditional Rice, Broccoli, and Chicken dish and gave it a little more personality and a lot more flavor. Yum!  I just finished chowing down on this dish and I’m already hungry for more just thinking about it.

Chicken, Rice, and Broccoli Photodinners

Here’s what I did:

Cook the brown rice in chicken broth until done.  Meanwhile, fry cubed chicken with green onions and a lot of flavor (I used lots of garlic and ginger, sweet chili sauce, garlic pepper and red pepper flakes)

Chicken, Rice, and Broccoli Photodinners

Because I had a lot going on the stove (ok, only two pots, but still . . .) I decided to steam my broccoli in the microwave using the advice from this website.

Chicken, Rice, and Broccoli PhotodinnersWhen chicken was done, I tossed two eggs in there and scrambled them with all the goodness. Needing to get rid of some left-overs from my previous post , I chucked in some soy sauce- marinated tofu. Once the rice is done, add to mixture, et voila!

Note: as I was feeling very comfort-foodish, I sprinkled cheese on top of mine. This was a bad idea.  It was much better before adding the cheese. Who knew cheese doesn’t go with everything?!

This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

