The Art of Crispy Tofu and Vegetables

I actually followed a recipe! (Well, mostly . . .) I am terrible at following recipes, sometimes because I’m too lazy to go to the store and get the correct ingredients, which basically boils down to the fact that I am too lazy to plan out my meals in advance, but sometimes because I am wee bit picky. But, the other day I created a meal almost step by step and ingredient by ingredient from the Better Homes and Gardens 75th Anniversary Cookbook — Crispy Tofu and Vegetables p. 91 for my readers who have the book. Upon reading this recipe, I concluded that I was going to follow the recipe pretty closely because it looked just that good.

Crispy Tofu and Vegetables PhotodinnersAnd, for those of you who follow recipes, here’s the low down:

  • Cut up tofu aCrispy Tofu and Vegetables Photodinnersnd coat with soy sauce and leave marinate.
  • Cut up a red and/or yellow pepper and green onions and stir fry in sesame oil until about half cooked (for me this was about  two minutes.)
  • Add snow peas and keep stir frying until veggies are done. Add more soy sauce if desired and remove from pan.
  • Coat marinated tofu in yellow cornmeal aCrispy Tofu and Vegetables Photodinnersnd spices (I added pepper and red pepper flakes for that kick)
  • Fry tofu and sesame seeds in more sesame oil mixed with cooking oil.
  • Cook some noodles to go along with your meal (I bought special chowmeain noodles, but because we’ve been eating out way too much it had already molded when I Crispy Tofu and Vegetables Photodinnerswas ready to cook this meal. We ended up just using three bundles of rice noodles)

Crispy Tofu and Vegetables Photodinners

This entry was posted in 30 Minutes or Less, Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Art of Crispy Tofu and Vegetables

  1. thinkwest says:

    This is great. Thx.

Leave a Reply

